Patient God – Impatient Me

waiting

I am/We are Crazy Impatient

I posted this on Facebook the other day (because it was over 140 Characters) and I have been dwelling on and praising God for His active characteristic of PATIENCE.  Here is what started my thought as I was reading through 1 Timothy:

Thankful that I serve a PATIENT God who loves me through my mistakes, downfalls, doubting, sin, laziness, and stress.

“Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life. Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

1 Timothy 1:15-17

As Paul writes to Timothy and tells him that he himself is the “Worst of Sinners” – I was struck with one part of this set of verses:

“I was shown mercy so that in me…Christ Jesus might display
His IMMENSE PATIENCE
as an example for those who would believe in
Him & Receive eternal life”

I’ve never thought about God’s Patience.  It has never struck me.  I have not been in a conversation with a fellow believer or a non-believer and as we are discussing the many attributes of God where I utter the word PATIENT.

However, when I read this last week – 2 things happened.

1) I was drawn into worship by the many many many times God has been patient with me.  And how even with Saul (when his name wasn’t Paul yet) as he was killing Christians and persecuting the Church – God was patient.  His timing is perfect.  His patience is the ultimate example.  He is worthy of worship

and

2) I was faced with the LACK OF PATIENCE that I have and display in my own life.  It’s sad that as I am made in the image of my creator – I am so very far off the mark of His Patience.

Even now – I sit in a Automotive Repair shop getting the  OPPORTUNITY to grow in my patience as I type this blog out with Spotty Wi-Fi and wait on getting my tires to get aligned and rotated (going on 3 hours now).

I am impatient in…

*The Car (might have slight case of road rage/Dallas-Driver Mentality)
*My relationship with my Wife at times – my flesh/sin nature comes out
*My relationship with my 1 year old son  at times
*Student Ministry – getting frustrated with lack of commitment to Church while over-commitment to Stuff, sports, & others
*Student Ministry – with parents, adults, or even students who always have a better way to do things
*My relationship with my parents & family as they don’t always understand the things of God
*Watching Commercials – DVR has ruined me
*Technology in general – not fast enough, not enough storage, not immediate enough

THE LIST GOES ON & ON….


I MUST GROW IN PATIENCE

LOVE IS PATIENT, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, PATIENCE, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.  Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.”

Galatians 5:22-24

My example is Jesus – He is the mark – the standard.  God is LOVE and LOVE is PATIENT.  My Flesh has been replaced with God’s SPIRIT and the FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT is PATIENCE.  I have missed the mark.

So I pray – that Jesus would continue to & IMMENSE PATIENCE to me – so that I may be an example to others of that
same mercy & Immense Patience.

 It is only by His power.

Leave a Reply

