God & G.I. Joes

When I was a Kid – I was absolutely Obsessed about G.I. Joe!  I would watch the cartoon EVERY Saturday Morning – and during the week I would play with the two G.I. Joes that I had.  Eventually, my passion grew a little bit more and I decided that two were not enough – so I went and had a Lemonade Stand and made like $50 bucks – I SPENT IT ALL on new G.I. Joes!  Man, this allowed me to have all out wars with G.I. Joe’s!  I would take them outside and spend HOURS coming up with my own plots, twists, conflicts, and resolutions…the only thing missing was the awesome PSA Announcements that they used to have at the end of every episode!

After about 6 months of this –  I was riding my bike and saw my friends AWESOME  GI Joe Fort which they bought at K-Mart – and i had to have it.  I begged my parents, pleaded with them to no avail… So, what did I do?  Give up…SIKE – no – I built my OWN Fort out of sticks and duct tape and string….

Looked almost like this…but maybe not as good or clean, or big, or well constructed or thought out….

SO, pretty much …it looked nothing like that… BUT – It was great – I had G.I. Joes swinging off of vines and throwing rocks and jumping into Rivers when it rained and the ditch filled up just  perfectly…

**But pretty soon – this wasn’t enough – no longer were GI Joes and their EPIC battles against Cobra and his Clan throughout the Stick Fort Enough – I needed more!  I needed to become a G.I. Joe!  Soo…I started my training…  in my mind that is.  I dreamed up and imagined that I was a GI Joe and that I had an awesome little dinosaur (Raptor) named “Yoshi” that I could command and he was my sidekick.  We would fight missions together in my back yard and all over the neighborhood – I mean we were awesome.

 

Looking back on this now and even saying it out loud at youth last night – I was amazed at how CONSUMED I was in the world of G.I. Joe.  Traveling through my life and taking a look at Memory Lane – I realized that there were a number of things I was CONSUMED with along the way – sports, girlfriends, myself, girlfriends, sports (I’m a simple man)…  yet, nothing lasted – nothing fulfilled me – nothing gave me purpose or depth – nothing else really had meaning – UNTIL   I became CONSUMED WITH GOD!

One thing about God is that when you are Consumed with Him – He doesn’t want you to be Consumed with other things – He wants all of us….and He deserves All of us…

Matthew 10:38-39 says this….

“anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

 

Wow…I feel as if we have a lot of crosses and we feel as if our LIFE is all that matters – We say that we are Christians, but we are not willing to let go of ourselves to discover really who Christ is, who He has made us to be, and what He wants us to do for Him and His glory!

********

I posed the Question to our Students  “What’s the point of all this if your are not going to let it Change you?” I mean why do we all come to Grace Point Students Ministry?  Is it just to see our friends or is it to worship?  I am a firm believer that if you TRULY dive in and REAP (Read, Examine, Apply, Pray) through the scriptures that it WILL change you!  You know that if you are a believer in Christ that HE is making you more and more like Him….

Where is the change at in you personally?  If you don’t give yourself up to Christ then you will never be worthy of Him…  you must first lose your own life to find it in Him…

 

 

I need to be as CONSUMED and as Passionate about God as I was about G.I. Joe’s…

2 responses to “God & G.I. Joes

  1. Awesome post! It was interesting to hear what the girls got out of last night and then to read your version. We are so blessed to have you and Brooke in their lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

