Worshippers Wanted Week 1: You had me at Transformer

No… not THAT kind of Transformer.  Although that would be pretty stinkin’ sweet!

This past week at GPS we started our “Worshippers Wanted” series that was probably long overdue.  The worship pastor Jerad Sears came and brought the message too us.  One thing that I love about Grace Point is now under the leadership of our Worship Pastor Jerad, you see Worship starting to be taught at ALL age levels.  From Children’s to “Big Church”…there are different levels of worship being brought to life.  However, that doesn’t necessarily mean that everyone gets it.  Partly because they are learning worship from man or those who are standing next to them…

TURN AND LEARN

WOW – the Wonder of God!

In Isaiah 29:13-14 – The Lord says

“These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is made up only of rules taught by men.

Therefore once more I will astound these people with wonder upon wonder; the wisdom of the wise will perish,
the intelligence of the intelligent will vanish.”

HOW OFTEN HAVE YOU BEEN IN AWE AND WONDER OF GOD?  I mean seriously…how often have you just been absolutely FLOORED by something God did or revealed to you?   I know and believe that we need to be ASTOUNDED by WONDER upon WONDER from the Lord…just as these people did.  I confess that I am apart of this group.

Luckily as a Youth Pastor I get the “opportunity” to see a lot of amazingly astounding things that God does through the Church and Students.  But I am not always in wonder of those things.  I don’t always respond in Worship.

ENEMIES OF WONDER

Hurry, Stress, Too Much Technology, Noise, Lack of Solitude/Silence, Busyness, Lack of Celebration, Trying to Achieve Human Standards!

These are all enemies or things that hinder us form being in WONDER of God and what He is doing or has done.  I know for me the biggest ENEMY would have to be “BUSYNESS” – when I can’t even stop to celebrate or be in awe of something that God is doing….that is a HUGE problem.

What’s your biggest enemy of being in wonder of God?

TRANSFORMER vs CONFORMER

Romans 12:1-2 says,

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Oh to be able to look at the world in a set of new eyes.  To transform yourself, perceptions, mind, thoughts, actions to approve what God’s will is…this is what I pray for you all and myself.  A conformer will be influenced from the OUTSIDE and try to mimic that – in worship that would be seeing what everyone else is doing and the “rules of men” and do as they do.  However, a transformer, will be changed from the inside and something will shift in the way they are thinking about, feeling, and responding to what God is doing.  They are changed form the inside – out!

LEARN AND LIVE

So will you be transformed in order that you will be able to see and worship in a new way.  I promise if you are truly transformed by what you read in God’s Word, what you hear from your conversations with Him, what you see from what He is so obviously doing in you and the world around you…you will surely be in AWE AND WONDER OF GOD!

Will you be a TRANSFORMER or a CONFORMER.  Me personally I want to be a Transformer – not only that… I want to be the OPTIMUS PRIME of WORSHIP!

One response to “Worshippers Wanted Week 1: You had me at Transformer

  1. I say Hallelujah!!!! I want to be a transformer for sure. I want to be someone who does not look to the right or to the left but looks only to Him, to bring Him alone the praise because He alone is worthy. I want to worship with total abandonment each time I worship in all areas of my life as well as when we worship together. I am so looking forward to all God is going to show me (us) through this study.

    Like

Leave a Reply

